manualphotography

Street/Fashion Photography

Venus

leave a comment »

DSCF0445Venus was the 49th stranger in my project. I feel she is significant for the story behind the photo. I was walking in Westwood Village looking for subjects when I spotted her in the window of the Peet’s Coffee. The lighting and framing of the window seemed like a good place for a photo. The sun had already set but the coffee shop was well lit and she had such a pleasant demeanor.  This was the first time that I went inside an establishment to ask someone to be a part of my project. I asked her if I could take a few photos of her through the window and she obliged. I went outside and gave some direction on how I wanted her to move her head which probably seemed awkward to people passing by. I didn’t know how the window would play a part in the photo but the reflections weren’t as distracting as I thought they would be. She was so understanding and to sit and pose while a stranger photographs you from outside must have been a unique experience.

Written by manualphotography

March 13, 2013 at 10:38 am

Leave a Reply

