manualphotography

Street/Fashion Photography

Azia

leave a comment »

P1080601Azia was working at a pie shop called the Pie Hole in the arts district in downtown Los Angeles. She obviously had a distinct look and I asked her if I could take a photo of her. She agreed but said that she couldn’t until she was leaving work which was in 30 minutes. I walked around a bit and met her outside the store. She was the 20th stranger for my project. I took a couple of photos and she was smiling in most of them. This is the one I choose because of her expression, it seems so plaintive. She said she finds her lack of traditional gender roles and androgyny interesting. The more I look at the photo, the more the contrast between her haircut and face become more evident. I hope I did her justice.

Written by manualphotography

February 17, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Leave a Reply

